Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The high amount of sugar found in food and drink produces one of the major health concerns. Soared prices of goods containing sugar seem as an effective solution to prevent overusing them by changing people’s eating and drinking habitats over time. Although this is a reasonable way, it could lead to the popularization of such items among the prosper populations. At the outset, the rising cost of merchandise affects the purchasing power of customers. Hence, this method is offered to decrease the consumption of unhealthy sugary items. For example, the statistics for buying coca cola per week may drop to per month after considering the cost. Besides, the habitats related to sugary items purchasing and eating could be influenced in the long term positively. Therefore, to me, it looks like a wise way of marginally enhancing health status. However, another problem could be caused consequently. Since communities divide separated classifications economically, there are signs related to each one. In fact, being wealthy contains the power of shopping for goods known as luxury items. So, if sugary foods and drinks are considered by their high prices, then their consumption of them may increase in the uptown areas among rich individuals. As a result, although this method might have a good impact on people categorized as having low economic power, there are possibilities that cause other problems among populations that identify themselves by spending money on expensive things. To conclude, in my view, the recommendation of increasing the costs of sugary products because of their harmful ability could lead to a more healthy lifestyle and eating habitats despite the fact that there is a chance to damage rich people with a growing inclination to purchase the expensive sugary products.