Some people think only best students should be rewarded. Others think we should reward students who make progress. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Never has the topic concerning education failed to attract public attention. However, when it comes to whether students with great progress or those academically-superior ones should be rewarded, people hold divergent opinions. From my perspective, these two views are not exclusive, all students deserve to be awarded when they get excellent performance. On the one hand, rewarding high-achieving students can be a recognition of their persistence and endeavours. The rewards could act as compensation for their relentless efforts, as they have devoted the majority of their time to academic study. This can therefore stimulate their enthusiasm, encouraging them to achieve higher grades. In addition, both material rewards and oral praise are definitely of great educational significance. Since pupils are easily affected by their peers. teachers could reward them and let them set remarkable role models in class, thereby establishing a positive learning atmosphere and inspiring others to strive harder. Provided that the academically-advantaged students do not get a reward, their classmates are prone to be disillusioned with education. On the other hand, rewarding the students who have made a big leap is also important. To begin with, this is likely to diminish the juvenile crime rate. It is not rare that some teachers evaluate their pupils only according to their academic records. Chances are that if their achievements are not rewarded or even recognized by the school, they will feel like being underrated, underappreciated and underprivileged. Under such circumstances, they will possibly have the predisposition to take revenge on society to express their resentment and dissatisfaction. Also, rewarding or just praising the students for their significant improvement could be an essential step to alleviate the conflicts between teachers and students. A great many students have inveterate prejudice against their teachers. In that case, if they are not rewarded when making progress, the relationship between teachers and students tends to worsen, which will leave some hidden problems in class. In conclusion, it is understandable that people have various views on this issue, but I firmly believe that students are not supposed to be treated in a discriminatory way. All students should be rewarded when necessary.