Computer games are becoming very popular among children of all ages and nationalities. Parents say they are concerned because these games have little educational value and many harmful effects. Do you agree or disagree?

These days there's a debate over the issue of video games among students of different ages in every nation. Some caretakers argue that the benefits are more than the drawbacks, while others say that the disadvantages overshadow the advantages. Both sides have reasonable reasons but this essay will completely agree with the latter statement and discuss the views in the body below. First of all, one of the reasons why computer games have a lot of demerits in children is that kids become addicted to them and forget about other responsibilities. That is to say, if a child starts to play games in the morning, she enjoys them too much and doesn't wish to stop playing until one of the parents tells her to stop. This not only wastes their time doing other things but also becomes addicted to them. For example, according to research done at Makerere University by professor John, it shows that 70% of children become addicted to video games and this scares a parent. Addition to why a caretaker gets worried when his kid is playing an online game because it interferes with his studies during school period. In other words, when his taken to school to study, he spends most of his time enjoying the game, especially during the lecture time when the lesson is boring. This makes him lose concentration in class hence leading to poor performance. For instance, a high number of pupils fail exams due to online games that they play during class periods which makes them miss out on important information. In conclusion, therefore I completely agree that online games have more demerits than merits among learners of all age groups in different countries due to addictions that they cause and poor performance on campus.