Many elder people are no long look after their families but are put in care home and nursing homes.What are advantages and disadvantages of this .

Nowadays, most individuals send some of their family members to nursing homes for several reasons. However, this move can either be beneficial or problematic to everyone involved. The essay below will discuss the pros and cons of doing this. To begin with, sending loved ones with disabilities to care institutions brings a lot of benefits. First, it allows other family members to do their daily duties freely without worrying about those who need special attention. Second, disabled people need special care, therefore, taking them to places where there are qualified individuals to closely monitor them is the best. For instance, a study by Leo in Australia found that more than 78 per cent of people kept in caring facilities lived longer than those kept by their relatives. This is because of the activities, diet and professional attention given to them. On the other hand, taking family members to such places may be disadvantageous. One problem is that some facilities might have impatient workers mistreating patients. The other disadvantage is that, elderly people might want to be with their families during their last days. Such wishes are not always fulfilled since death is untimely. For example, a study by Gibson Jury in Hong Kong found that more than 90 per cent of aged people at the care centres requested to be taken to their families before they die. However, some died at the centres before going home. To conclude, sending family members to care homes has both advantages and disadvantages. One of the benefits is that it gives peace of mind to relatives when knowing that their beloved is well taken care of. The disadvantages include that some workers may not treat patients with love. These and more issues are discussed above.