In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Currently, the majority of businesses often show potential customers how their products are distinct compared with current counterparts in the market through the media. From my perspective, this phenomenon is caused by some reasons and I am convinced that it has more drawbacks than benefits mentioned in this essay. On the one hand, there are some reasons for displaying new features to convince potential customers to make an order. Consumers these days are often attracted by items which have cutting-edge designs or technology. Because they believe that those pieces of equipment will raise their living standard and save time for other hobbies. Secondly, young generations tend to feel proud when possessing the most modern instruments. Based on those reasons, traders cooperating with experienced marketers highlight their products ' new and unique functions or properties. For example, a smartwatch owning sports instructions application provided by experienced and renowned professionals tends to be sold out after having been launched for several weeks. On the other hand, it is undoubted that stressing new properties of particular products has some inconveniences. Firstly, most customers are often distracted and bothered by loads of adverts popping up while they are immersed in their favourite channels. Besides that, sometimes, advertising agents set up and exhibit unreal functions resulting in more consumers losing trust in purchasing advertised items in media. For instance, a medication with new and natural ingredients introduced by celebrities actually cannot cure diabetes which disappointed many patients. In conclusion, to sell products successfully, businessmen often advertise and stress the newest aspects of their products. This approach benefits customers somehow but also adversely affects the company's sales if it is taken advantage of properly.