In the past, lectures were traditional method of teaching large numbers of students in a classroom. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students.What are advantages and disadvantages of this new approach in teaching?

At one point lectures were the conventional means of teaching big groups of students, whereas now, with the rise of technology, online education is becoming more widespread. The new method creates opportunities such as adjusting school hours to one’s preference and financial costs reduction. Nevertheless, students are prone to spending much more time on electronics. There are several benefits students can obtain with the increased popularity of online classes. Firstly they allow students to reduce their transportation costs. For people who don’t live on campus, getting to university takes time and money, so the new approach creates convenient conditions for students. Moreover they can spend less money on textbooks and other school materials. Another advantage is the schedule flexibility pupils acquire. This gives students an opportunity to combine their extracurricular activities and work with studies based on their availability. The majority of students use either their tablets or laptops for taking notes. With online classes they not only have to take notes but also take part in a conference call and follow what the teacher is writing on the whiteboard. That might be a negative aspect of having online classes since students have to constantly switch between a note taking app and a conference call platform or reduce the screen size of both tabs, which would worsen one’s eyesight. Another drawback of the new approach is the amount of screen time on electronic devices students are subject to. This might cause negative implications to pupils’ health like bad eyesight, as well as back pain or headache. Overall, it is agreed that online classes make studying more comfortable for people all around the world. However it is important to keep your health a priority.