Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of wether the course is useful to an employee. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university.?

What could be the main purpose of universities has now been a debatable issue. Some believe that skills which are required at the workplace should be taught in institutions, while others argue that universities are places where students get an education. I agree with the first notion and in this, essay I will highlight some key facts. To begin with, we go to colleges for higher education and to learn expertise which could help us in the future. After graduating from the varsity students go to the workplaces to implement the knowledge practically. But if they don't get the required skills at the workplace, it might become hard for them to perform well. As well, if universities are unable to provide relevant skills according to their subjects, then what are universities for? Therefore, along with theoretical knowledge and understanding of the subject, practical skills should be taught to students. Others, however, believe that teaching graduates practical expertise is not the responsibility of institutes as it is not necessary. In addition, students should take responsibility and get internships on their own from industries to learn skills. Because, due to the tight schedule of coursework and assignments the university faculty find it difficult to teach extra- activities. Hence, it is not up to colleges whether the course, that is offered to you, is helpful and useful for you in future. There are also several modules in the coursework that neither have relevant contemporary knowledge nor practical use. To sum up, it is agreed that along with imparting education to youth, skills should also be taught at varieties. In this,way youngsters can perform in a more efficient manner rather than spending an extra year learning the required skills at the workplace.