There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Evaluating students is one of the most important criteria of teaching and learning. In the past, continual assessments are the most effective part of the evaluation process of students. However, the ever-increasing tendency of taking exams sometimes surpasses the popularity of continual assessment. The exam has both benefits and drawbacks and this essay will explore both side. To begin with, in every teaching,process students have to show what they have achieved through the learning. There are numerous ways to prove their capability and taking exams is the most important one despite of both advantages and disadvantages. First and foremost, taking the exam is the most effective and creative way of assessing students. For example, students can sit for an exam after a certain period of the lesson to assess themselves. Moreover, through, exam they can find out their weaknesses and problems and then concentrate to solve it. In addition, there is a chance of supplementary exams which help failed students to sit for another exam and succeed. There are some negative sides to exams and the most prominent one is sometimes it fails to evaluate the weakness of students. The very old process of questioning and answering in the exam sometimes lacks the effectiveness of evaluation. Therefore, the calibre of students is not properly evaluated. Another problem is that sometimes only passing exams can become the only focus of students rather than earning knowledge. That's why the principal aim of education is somehow ignored. Furthermore, students in some cases grow the tendency to doing unfair means in the exam which can not be appreciated. Taking exam have both demerits and merits. But if the merits can outweigh the demerits, exams should the taken.