Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is believed by many that the past 30 years have witnessed a dramatic hike in the possession of cars to the extent that many countries have incredibly suffered from traffic congestion. Although I totally agree with this statement, there is a number of measures that ought to be implemented to reverse this issue. I firmly believe that the first and also the most crucial reason why a substantial proportion of nations nowadays suffer from traffic congestion relates to the increased number of cars on the streets. When citizens have a deteriorating public transport system such as buses, microbuses and railways, deliberately would they tend to purchase cars in order to facilitate their day-by-day obligations. One further contributor to this phenomenon is the centralization in metropolises which yielded overpopulation and overcrowdedness in many major cities. In Cairo, for example, there are more than a million vehicles which belong to immigrants from rural areas. As for the solutions, governmental intrusion is indispensable to tackle this predicament. If authorities became keen on constructing a high-quality network of roads, definitely would civilians become willing to curtail their dependence on their vehicles. In London, for instance, there is a number of high-quality trains with affordable prices that lure citizens to utilize them. Moreover, not only should authorities build a robust infrastructure, but also they have to exert every possible effort to tackle the issue of centralization by decentralizing capital corporations, universities and medical institutions from urban areas to the countryside. In conclusion, I am convinced that the lack of solid infrastructure along with the accumulation of cars in large cities has triggered overcrowdedness. However, the measures mentioned above could contribute a good first step to mitigate this trend.