Some people believe that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children's time is better spent on more academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on whether students should have Physical Education (P. E.) classes. While many think that they should focus on academic subjects, I would argue that it is indispensable to provide P. E. classes for them since physical health is crucial and it can also boost our academic performance. Those who believe that P. E. classes should be replaced point out that school is a place where people come to learn knowledge. To be more specific, students may learn about language, math, physics, history etc, which are the foundation of their future learning or careers. People can find a better job if they can get higher scores in these subjects. P. E. classes, however, are less important. Only those who are gifted or interested in sports can benefit from it. For example, in the US, students are likely to be admitted by prestigious university when they at professional athlete level. However, I would argue that P. E. classes should be compulsory classes. The main reason is that despite academics is the most important part in our school life, we cannot completely ignore students ’ health. P. E. teachers can teach students some basic knowledge of different kinds of exercise, so they learn how to do training without hurting themselves. Therefore, students could become healthier by exercising both at classes or do it after school. Moreover, there is scientific evidence shows that exercising regularly can boost one’s academic performance. As a result, not only those who want to be professional athlete, but also those who want to achieve high marks in exams can benefit from P. E. classes. In conclusion, while it is truth that people attend schools mainly for learning academic knowledge, I would argue that P. E. classes should be included in the curriculum as it is beneficial for their health and can improve their academic performance as well.