Some people say that the Olympic games no longer have a role to play in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

I would like to differ from peoples opinion about Olympic games has no role in the 21st century. This is a very debatable statement. I would like to put in my view point on why I disagree with the above statement. To start, generally involving in games either by participating or hosting one like an Olympic games is an indication of a developed nation. It enhances the economic condition of the country. There would be lot of foreign investments required in building the infrastructure in the city and country. It allows the local talent and sportsperson to showcase their talent and skills. This helps in employment, and leverages a country to make a powerful impact on the global arena. It surely is a moment of pride for the nation. But on a flip side, it is equally or more challenging for a nation to organise such an event. First to identify city, gather and allocate organisation to facilitate building the infrastructure which needs to be of a global standard. More important the cost involved in organising such a mammoth event is exorbitant. There is also a requirement to appoint a vigilant committee who will be responsible to ensure the effectiveness of the planning, execution and completion of the event. It would be disastrous for a nation if there are not able to generate revenue after investing so much time and resources in hosting a global event like an Olympic games. Pulling off such an event involve a lot of money and everyone involved would like to have a share of the pie. This tarnishes the event and nation. Overall, I am in agreement that Olympic games are required and they play a pivotal role in showcasing the competitiveness in the sportsperson and brings nations closer.