Telework can be considered a flexible form of work organization

In the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020, many mandatory changes were generated in the routine and way of life for all, one of these changes was the way of working, and it was normalized that workers work at home, thanks to the technology of these times. After that event there are still companies that handle this mode of work, just connecting from a device such as their cell phone or laptop, thus generating many advantages in terms of savings in the costs of renting and infrastructure that entails having staff in a plant. But these advantages will be analyzed to understand if companies really benefit from the fact that their employees are not in an office under the supervision of a boss. This essay will show the impacts presented to companies since teleworking and as gained strength, generating controversy in productivity between remote workers and those who meet their schedule in offices physically. Teleworking can be considered a flexible form of work organization, which consists of the performance of professional activity without the physical presence of the worker in the company during a significant part of his working hours. The term teleworking was first established by scientist Jack Nilles in 1973, when the United States was going through a serious economic crisis due to oil, which caused an increase in fuel thus making mobility more difficult and complicated to get to work offices; as the solution, it was considered that people work from home,(Nilles,J,1994). Although the crisis was quickly resolved, the idea of working from home was adopted by companies to provide a better balance between the personal and working lives of their employees. ILO reported in 2021 that in advanced countries the number of workers under the Teleworking modality doubled from 2005 to 2014. For instance, the United States increased from 1,819,355 to approximately 3,677,061 teleworkers. Being the government sector with the highest growth. On the other hand, in countries such as Canada and Australia, according to the aforementioned report, telework statistics increased significantly between 2006 and 2012. Then, in Europe towards the end of 2010, the figures for telework were considerably high. Countries like the Czech Republic stand out with 9%, Denmark with 2.6%, Slovakia with 3.4%, Belgium with 2.2% and the European country that topped the list was the United Kingdom, registering figures of Telework for the year 2012 around 12.8%, which means about 3,7 million people. During the pandemic several surveys were conducted to managers, with positive productivity results, An online survey by Ozimek (2020) reveals that 56% of managers perceive telework "better than expected". Another poll by Barrero, Bloom and Davis (2021a) confirms this finding and claim that work from home will stick in the future due to five main reasons: 1) better-than-expected experience during the pandemic, 2) already paid investments in tangible and intangible capital to enable telework (i.e. the fixed cost of establishing telework), 3) diminished stigma associated with this practice, 4) enduring fear of crowds and contagion risks, and 5) a pandemic-related surge in IT innovations facilitating telework and a related increasing productivity of remote workers – as also emphasised by Davis, Ghent and Gregory (2021). Surveys focusing on the employee’s perspective are also positive: Taneja, Bloom and Davis (2021) find a roughly 2% more efficient workforce on a self-reported basis.