Learning abaut the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this period of modernity, many people believe that history is a non-essential subject that has no value in this era. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this notion and my opinion will be discussed in further paragraphs with a suitable example. Supporting my disagreement with the given statement, I firmly believe that the past is the best teacher which can help any person/country/organisation not only learn and grow but also tells them not to repeat past mistakes. To cite an example, after seeing world war I and II impact globally, many nations came together and formed a global peace accord to stop this from happening in the future. Furthermore, most of the technology we see today, comes from learning from past inventions and then improving them step by step to reach the point where we are today. Hence, our past has an absolute connection with our bright future or present. Explaining some of another supporting point against this statement, it is true that history builds empathy through studying the lives and struggles of others. Studying the diversity of human experience helps us to appreciate cultures, traditions and ideas that are not our own. As a result, It helps us to realize how different our living experience is from of our ancestors, yet how similar we are in our goals and values. In conclusion, the past has many layers and the more we explore, the more we can grow. I believe that the aforementioned points are strongly supporting my viewpoint.