These days people are using the Internet for shopping, work and to communicate with others without the need for face to face meetings. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

The emergence of the internet in the world's civilization has resulted to convenient ways of doing business and communication.No doubt the internet is one of the magnificent innovations that mankind has managed to come up with regardless of its demerits in certain areas of operation. In depth,traditional ways of managing and doing business had hindrances ineffective working environments where wastage of time and resources was evident. Communication between business partners and consumers had to be done manually and individuals had to meet in person. This made governments and the private sector tho come up with sufficient methods of communication. Categorically, the internet has made shopping easy with the emergence of e-commerce platforms.E-commerce is an online platform that enables users(buyers) to purchase goods and services in remote areas with an intention of being delivered at the locations of their own convenience.Goods and services are delivered to the doorsteps minimising time wastage and a checkout system is availed for payments before or after delivery. Further than this, the internet has facilitated effective communication processes in the majority of workplaces.Nowadays,nearly all businesses and government institutions have incorporated all departments on online service provisions. This has materialized in workers giving services effectively and in many government institutions enabled transparency.Employees are able to communicate formally and achieve the set goals and objectives of the companies and government institutions. In conclusion, the internet has changed the mode of operations in many formal and informal sectors of the economy in the whole world.Contrary to this, the internet has its own discrepancies where governments and businesses are facing cyber security threats.Fraudulent and illegal activities have increased parallel to the robust internet usage in nearly all private sector and government institutions.It is therefore recommended that more public awareness programmes should be committed to educate members of the public on the merits and demerits of the internet.