A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values such as honour, kindness and trust no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Being able to obtain materialistic items is one of the most desirable dreams people have been longing for. These days, people, in general, tend to interpret other folk according to the number of their possessions and reputation while neglecting the traditional values in terms of kindness or loyalty. This essay will discuss both these views and explain why it is true. The public nowadays only judge someone by their status and possessions because of unfair treatment and various social groups. Firstly, poor people are being treated unequally in community. Although they are good citizens who contribute to helping the country, they are being underestimated because they do not own any valuable and luxurious things. Beggars, for example, most of them are kind-hearted people with talents and passion to achieve something in their lifetime; however, they are not even given opportunities to engage in society in the first place. Secondly, there are different groups divided in society. Only wealthy people have a chance to build networks with each other whereas the least privileged are not welcomed to be part of them and are often overlooked. As a result, even with old overall qualities, society without status and fortune, will not be able to have any connection with rich people. On the other hand, people are actually being judged by the quality of their hearts rather than their wealth because of new social norms. In today's society, society are more open-minded than ever before to accept and appreciate population from all family backgrounds, so crowd treat them the way others too. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both views on people's judgements based on materials and fame others own. Despite the strong arguments from both sides, I strongly agree with this opinion. If nation still continue doing such things, there will certainly be more and more unfairness in future societies.