Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In the 21st century where the ability to communicate in English is crucial, schools globally are emphasizing it as a primary language, instead of the local one. As a consequence, many local languages are at risk of extinction. Moreover, the importance of English is being questioned. Personally, I believe measures to ensure the survival of native languages must be taken. As English is considered the global language, due to the majority of the population speaking it, it’s essential to have learned it. Only then, one will have considerably more career opportunities. Take, a skilful person who only speaks Chinese, for example, he won’t get a job in a foriegn country as a result of his lack of proper communication skills. This very importance of the language leads to the entire population trying to learn it. However, if everyone’s focusing on learning English, local languages will eventually disappear. Furthermore, they are something to be treasured, as some’s origins date back thousands of years. Therefore, it’s extremely important to keep their legacies. Also, I believe governments should take action to prevent the vanishing of native languages from happening. For instance, if schools were to have equal emphasis on both the local language and English, students would certainly be keen on learning both of them. Which would halt their mother tongues’ from disappearing. As a result, the languages will be preserved, and non-EnglishEnglish speakers will also be able to speak English. To conclude, I strongly believe that every single individual must learn English, for it is the international language used by billions. However, the claims that other languages are also valuable, are undoubtedly factual, due to their histories and origins. Thus, I also believe that it’s crucial for governments to go to certain lengths to preserve our mother tongues. Additionally, just a slight change in schools worldwide’s focus on language could contribute to the maintenance of non- English languages.