Although the prices of fossil fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in these fuel prices are the only way to reduce the world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fossil fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statement?

As many people sustain, ulteriorly rising the cost of fossil fuels may be the only solution to decrease their consumption and to higher their preservation even when prices have already known a huge growth during the past twenty years. While I will continue to discuss these topic further in the next few paragraphs It seems to me that an additional increase in fuel prices may not be the most efficient resolution. Although if we were to follow the law of supply and demand it would be certain to state that a rise in prices of something diminishes its demand and so its consumption and consequently lessen the pressure on its offer, it is also true that since fossil fuels are primary goods for the world economy this law may not apply as usual. In fact, people are continuing to question the efficiency of the resolution proposed after all these years. Considering the fact that lots of people are still able to afford this resource even in cases when the prices are already incredibly high it means that its cost is not a variable that is taken into consideration into one’s market choices. Therefore I feel like different kind of ways may be necessary in order to discourage citizens from using this energy source. To conclude, I think it is a positive trend that more and more people are hard looking for solutions in order to stop or at least minimize the negative effects that the exasperate wasting of resources brings to the planet, but I do firmly believe that arguing that increasing world fuel prices is be the only and most effective solution that can be found is arguably an hazard and I completely disagree.