Many countries use fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) as the main source of energy. However, in some countries the use of the alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) is encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this development?

Fossil fuels have been the major source of energy around the world since the industrialization era in 1800. Although, wind and solar energy are being adopted in some countries. I agree with the statement due to the fact that fossil fuels are the major culprits in greenhouses gas. Firstly, recent studies have shown that fossil fuels are the major producers of carbon dioxide emissions, these gases then cause what is known as greenhouse effects, which are causing the atmosphere to retain heat and get warmer causing global warming. Looking for alternative sources of energy could be helpful in keeping our planet earth healthy. Secondly, energy sources such as wind, and solar are naturally occurring and cheap to harness, they do not cause any harm to the environment as they do not release any harmful by-products. Exploring these options could enable us to achieve the mitigation measures that were put in place to curb global warming. In conclusion, clean sources of energy should replace fossil fuels as the main source of energy as they have been proven to be environmentally friendly and Safe.