Some people think that government should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education plays an important role in a country's development index. While there is a popular opinion that government should allocate a larger proportion of money to teaching science subjects in order to develop the country, others believe non-science fields are as important. I strongly believe that equal preferences should be given to all subjects, so a country can create more job opportunities, and can generate more revenue. Spending money on non-science-related subjects creates more jobs in the job market. In other words, when educational institutions start a variety of courses they attract many students to enrol in these programmes creating more employment opportunities for the lecturers and administrative staff. For example, a university with more courses will generate more income than a university with fewer programmes. Moreover, international students may join these colleges and contribute to the profits. Government giving equal preferences to all the subjects widen the earning capacity of a country. To explain further, non-science subjects such as hospitality management, arts and culture, religious courses and management field can create more experts in a variety of fields. For instance, while religious studies and arts and culture can protect a country's heritage, tourism and hospitality management studies attract more tourists to the country by developing the tourism sector. This will contribute to a significant proportion of the foreign reserve of a government. To conclude, although the majority believe that the development of a nation depends on science streams, I strongly advocate that non-science streams play a vital role too by creating more vacancies and broadening the sources of income of a nation.