In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Infrastructure investment is considered to be an essential issue that draws great attention from publicity. While many individuals hold a belief that it is vital to invest money in constructing new fast trains and railways lines between cities, I strongly support the view that money should be spent on developing existing public transport. On the one hand, advocates of the view that people should spend money on building new fast trains and railways lines have some key rationales. First and foremost, this way of investing money helps diversify the types of public transport for citizens. As a result, people can apparently easy to find an appropriate type of transport with them, which is an important basis for their willingness to prefer public transport in the future. However, constructing new fast trains railways lines requires a lot of resources, including not only money but also time, human,etc, aligning with difficulties and high risks during implementation. For instance, in Vietnam, fast trains and railways lines are predicted to cost over 30 billion dollars and take about 50 years to complete, which are all significantly huge investments in a developing country like Vietnam. On the other hand, there is a combination of reasons why people support investing in improving the existing public transport system. To begin with, it is supposed to be an effective and optimal way to improve the transportation system comprehensively. Specifically, in tandem with the rapid development of society, the infrastructure of many nations nowadays seems to be quite good and suitable for the individuals’ demands. Moreover, thanks to the long history of infrastructure development, developers are thought to have a lot of valuable experience and knowledge to make rational strategies and plans. As a result, using money to improve the quality of the existing public transport system can bring more benefits to citizens in comparison with other solutions. These all also demonstrate reasons why I do agree with this point of view. In conclusion, although building fast train railways lines helps vary means of transport for individuals, it seems to cost a lot of resources. Spending money on the existing public transport systems, on the other hand, can be more beneficial when being implemented.