Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars? In today’s world, it is true that the ownership of cars has risen sharply in the last thirty years, which can be seen by constant traffic jams all over the world. I think this is so true, and this issue also can be solved using a real measurement to discourage people from owning cars by the government. To begin with, it is true that traffic jams are increasing over time periods and causing many effects around the globe. Firstly, people like new things, especially when it comes to private vehicles. They can use all their savings for the sake of new cars and have a prestigious lifestyle afterwards. They need to cope with a lavish environment that has high standards of living, one of which is having an expensive car. Therefore, people will buy the newest version of a car to enhance their self-esteem in public or impress certain circles. Secondly, people who have earnings more than average sometimes confuse how to spend their money except for their leisure. Consequently, they will buy expensive things and end up not using it well. This can be detrimental for their surroundings. However, the government also can tackle this problem in order to reduce the number of cars. Government can make a strict regulation to not having more than one car so that people will not spend their money on it. For those who want to have more than one car, they have to pay more taxes than the regular ones. As a result, people will rethink before they purchase new cars to make wise decisions. Other than that, the government should show the number of pollution rates in each city, and remind all society of the drawbacks and causes that can bring many dangers. The governance also can make a campaign to use public transportation more often because of its facilities and is much more affordable than using private cars. Thus, people will be more concerned about the advantages and disadvantages from every action they take. In conclusion, people need to be more aware about the impacts that might occur because of their actions. Having more cars can cause many bad effects for surrounding people and make more traffic jams. Given this situation, I recommend people to use public transportation more often in order to save money and time.