The tourism industry has grown enourmously in the last fifty years, and there are few places that are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefit the countries which tourists visit. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The tourism industry has experienced a considerable increase in popularity over the last fifty years. Resulting in almost no places that would not be influenced by touristic activity. Some people claim that tourism does not bring many advantages to these visited places. However, I disagree and hence, in this essay I will argue that tourism enhances a country’s economic situations and helps with acquiring new languages. Tourism creates opportunities for locals to set up profitable buisnesses. There is a variety of services that can be offered to tourists such as hotels, restaurants or tour guides. Given that such buisnesses does not usually require a high qualification or years of education, it can be especially beneficial for the poorer citizens. Hence, the potential in reduction of wealth inequality can imporve overall state of an economy. For example, Greece which is a highly dependent on tourism has experienced a serious economic problems with the COVID-19 pandemic that froze the tourism industry. The benefit of tourism also lies in the cultural enrichment between tourists and locals. As tourist rarely speak the language of the country they visit, natives have to learn several words of the language tourists speak in order to provide their services even though they might be reluctant to it. This can be the first step in learning new language, which can then open door to new opportunities. For example, once a street market seller learnes learned learns to communicate with tourist, he can be more successful in his selling. In conclusion, not only that tourism can help a country with its citizens’ wealth it also encourage them to learn new languages, which can lead to further development of the country. Hence, I am firmly that countries should welcome tourists as they can be a source of a great both tangable and intangable wealth.