Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, the number of freelancers who are not pursuing work in a particular association increases. I believe that the root cause is mainly overly fierce competition in the current job market. However, there are several drawbacks, which lead to more workloads and stress. One obvious reason that people opt to work as self-employed is that getting employed in modern society is extremely competitive with economic deterioration. In other words, more applicants are flocked into fewer employment notices, which are announced by companies and organisations intermittently. For example, Samsung, which is a top-tier company where all workers wish to get employed, adjusts the number of workers and is less likely to hire new members because of severe economical backgrounds. As a result, the current economic slump not only threatens the asset of one association but also decreases career opportunities for people who search opened career positions. Therefore, these job seekers tend to switch their careers to freelanced jobs recently, which is not necessary to take an effort to get hired. On the other hand, it is undeniable that being freelanced has some advantages in its task. Foremost, freelancers are suffering from unstable incomes. In particular, their salaries depend on each accomplishment, which is obligated to work hard more than typical workers do to maintain their earnings. Next, there is another competition in finding loyal clients. To run their business, self-employment needs to gain engagement with various clients and customers, which is required highly competitive network building. Hence, freelancers have to face these issues seemed as an advantage in their careers. To sum up, a number of people prefer a freelancer to a member of a particular association owing to scarce recruitment opportunities. However, it is apparent that there are weaknesses such as their unstable budget and more competitive network setting.