Most people in the world have to work to earn a living. However, many people work only for the financial gain that it involves, and not for any other reward a job can offer. What do you think the main considerations when deciding what job to take should be?

Certainly, the majority of people around the world have to work to make a living. It is heard that most individuals work just for the financial benefits the job is offering them, disregarding their personal preferences and what they would love to do. In my opinion, people should trust more their feelings and apply for a job that they are passionate about; one that they are suitable for and that offers them a sense of meaning. A positive aspect of trusting yourself and doing what you love is the motivation to go to work. Daily tasks seem easier and more enjoyable. For example, an individual who does something that he is passionate about has better health, lower levels of depression and a desire for continual education whereas someone who is stacked in a position he is unhappy about feels every task is like a burden and in addition, has bigger chances to become depressed. Another advantage is the sense of purpose that is acquired, of doing something meaningful. On the other hand, to be able to achieve this, when choosing a career someone should access their skill and preparation level and check if they are suitable for the position. For example, a person who loves singing but doesn`t possess an appropriate voice will encounter problems in their future career. So it is not enough to feel a sense of purpose, you have to be good at it also. In conclusion, if more people would choose with their heart without fear of the unknown, and if would be passionate and excellent at what they would be doing, they could benefit from the other types of rewards a job can offer, their level of happiness would be higher, and financial rewards would represent just the bonus.