Some people say that the study of science should be mandatory in schools, whereas others argue that it is unnecessary . Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary era, modern science and technology have made everything possible and convenient for mankind. Such advancements have boost the economical and social sectors of the country. Some critics opine that academic institutions must consider science as a compulsory subject, while others deny this notion. In my opinion, the former proposition appears to be more rational. On one hand, it is true that science is necessary to understand these days in order to adjust with the advancements taking place in the world. Firstly, the basic knowledge of human body and how it functions must be clear to the pupils so that it promote the healthy lifestyle alongwith the prevention of various diseases. Second advantage is that, the youngsters would be able to get job offers easily especially in the field of engineering and medicine if they know the basic concepts of chemistry, physics and biology. Moreover, there would be probability of more discoveries by the students in future if they desire to become scientists and developers. On the other hand, where there are pros of including science as a subject, there are some risks involved. Firstly, teenagers are invincible in nature and capable of learning things fast and misuse it. To exemplify, nowadays, trend of using drugs is increasing and youngsters learn the methods of making drugs on their own with the help of basic chemistry concepts taught by the science teachers. This lead to detrimental effects on their body and health. Moreover, the chapters involving reproductive system and study of hormones instill intersest in students regarding intimate activities and lead to increase in teenage pregnancies. To summarise, although, science as a subject has both prons and cons while, the profits are more prominent than the darker side. Some changes ought to be done such as the higher authorities of institutes should provide science as an optional subject for the children who are more interested in other areas of schooling.