Some think newspapers are the best method for reading the news while others think other media is better. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The world undergoes drastic changes daily and as a citizen, it is vital to be informed about what is happening around you. Some state that the best way to gather global information is by reading newspapers while others believe that alternative sources of information such as television, radio and the internet are much better. In this essay, I will discuss both notions and elaborate on how the internet has become a prominent news source for today’s generation. Firstly, the newspapers provide wide coverage with a detailed explanation of an incident whereas the news on television would only cover a fraction with their summarized version. Also, the details in a newspaper undergo a long process of verifying and editing so they are more accurate than the details on the internet. For example, a young boy who is a fan of sports and the economy can easily turn to the sports section if they want to find the most controversial topics in those particular fields and gain knowledge within a short period of time. Secondly, the recent generation is becoming tech-savvy resulting in the use of newspapers dropping exponentially. For instance, with the digitalization of the world, many people use their mobile phones or computers to access the internet to learn worldwide news because they are unable to spend a lot of time and energy buying a newspaper. The internet is much faster and more efficient thus, making many busy lives rely on it for quick updates about the globe. In conclusion, being up to date with the changing world is highly important. While some are inclined towards using newspapers to become updated but in my opinion, more people are gravitating towards other efficient resources like the internet because of its benefits such as easy access, energy saving and less time-consuming.