Some people think that best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Other however believe that there are other alternatives ways of reducing crime. Discuss your opinion?

Many people argue that we should extend the time in jail of prisoners to deteriorate the crime rate. However, peacemarkers advise there are still more positive solutions to diminish the number of crimes. The essay below will debate on both. Expanding the confine time of prisoners in jail is a significant way to prevent people to commit a crime. They have a tendency to think twice before act illegal behaviors. Taking Singapore as an example, this country impose extreme strict law about cocains, compared to other countries. The punishment of illegal drug transportations in Singapore is three time higher than other countries, it also means the time of prisioners are longer. Therefore, they will not commit a crime in Singapore and the crime rate will reduce. However, there are other solutions to drop the percentage of crime. One of the way is government should enhance the quality of citizen's life. The better life standard people have, the number of crime decreases. To do that, economy is the primary key to completely change the citizen behaviours because I believe the crime cause from the impoverishment, so people will not commit some crime involved to thief or burlary bursary. For example, there was an social experiment in Dubai where one third of citizens are employers. The video host pretended to drop his wallet on the street and a hidden camera was set up to record pedestrians whether they give back wallet to the host. As a result, 8 out of 10 people returned. I believe the experience can show up the minority of crime in Dubai which is a prosperous country. In summary, I agree not only extending the jail time of prisioners is a effective way to reduce crime rate but also boosting up the economy of country is a remarkable solution. In my opinion, government can apply both solutions to achieve the best result.