In many countries, the proportion of elder people is steadily increasing. Does this have positive or negative effects on society?

Never have the topics concerning the ageing population failed to attract the public’s attention. However, when it comes to whether it is beneficial or detrimental to society, I believe that this phenomenon will exert both positive and negative impacts on each country. On the one hand, the continuously growing percentage of senior citizens will bring some lurking threats to society. To begin with, the financial burden of the government is likely to be aggravated. It is widely acknowledged that a soaring number of ageing people require a huge amount of funds for pensions and medical treatments. Provided that the government spends the majority of the revenue on welfare for elder people, the budget for urgent issues will be reduced correspondingly. In the long run, it will lead to an unbalanced society and the government tends to be financially overwhelmed. Moreover, society will possibly be devoid of vitality. Young people are undoubtedly more energetic and efficient. Since they always burst out with creative ideas, it can therefore stimulate the diversity of the world, which will contribute to a promising prospect of a nation. However, an excessive ageing population will impede this development. On the other hand, it may help to promote cultural inheritance. It is not rare to see that elderly people can teach the young about traditional culture, which can enhance their cultural identity. Chances are that if the young generation is blind to the local culture, our cultural diversity is prone to vanish in the future. Nevertheless, the current trend can ensure those invaluable cultural heritages be passed on. Additionally, with an increasing number of senior citizens, the development of the tertiary industry tends to be promoted. There is no denying the fact that their basic living allowances are bound up with healthcare, medical insurance and nursing houses. As their offspring might be too busy to take care of there, they are likely to be sent to nursing houses, which are equipped with advanced facilities and professional nurses. As a result, the development of relative industries would be stimulated, thus making contributions to the prosperity of the whole country. In conclusion, a steadily increasing proportion of the old will not merely bring benefits or drawbacks. For some aspects, it will be a nightmare, but for others, it will be a blessing.