Some people think that the teenagers should concentrate on all subjects at school. Others believe that teenagers should believe on the subject they are best at or they are most interested in. To what extent do you agree?

There is an opinion that high school students should focus on all classes whereas there is an opposite view stating that they should instead put more effort into the subjects they are more inclined to or have a higher interest in. On one hand, I think having a broader understanding of life which was acquired by learning the basics of a variety of topics during school time can always be beneficial in the future. The knowledge received can help us in different aspects of our lives: at work, in social gatherings or at home. For example, learning how to cook properly can enable a person to prepare food at home or make lunch for colleagues at work later in adulthood. Additionally, there could be a case when at first, a subject may not be as interesting to the individual but later, after making an effort she or he may start really enjoying it and will decide to take a related career path. In other words, something that might seem to be boring and hard in the beginning might turn into a passion later. For instance, playing the piano requires years of practice and might be disliked by a child at the start, but after developing the skill to a mastery point, she or he may begin to experience mental bliss. Hence, giving a taste of different subjects combined with hard work done to comprehend them, may induce talent discovery. On the other hand, if someone tries to attend to everything at once it might create a mental overload leaving no space to really contemplate and decide what she or he is drawn to. Thus, allowing a person to put a bigger focus on one class while disregarding other less exciting topics may facilitate the development of her or his proficiency. This might lead to high success in the future career, especially in fields where being a competent narrow specialist is appreciated. Examples include academia, sports or arts. However, in some other professions, having a broader range of skills and knowledge might be required. For example, having a passion for mathematics and choosing a major in accounting may not lead to landing a job without having good soft skills that could be acquired in social subjects. In conclusion, even though well-rounded education might lead to talent discovery, concentrating on a subject of interest or talent can lead to a high level of expertise and future career success.