Many parents are unhappy about the fact that the violence content in computer games, TV programs and other leisure activities is influencing their children. What are the harmful effects of such violent programs on children? What are the solutions of this problem?

There is an increasing amount of violent content on the Internet and in the media. Therefore, with a lot of exposure, parents have become more worried and unhappy about their children's well-being. This essay will discuss the detrimental effects of this trend, followed by measures to address the problem. This issue has led to many negative impacts on children, both mentally and physically. First, there have been more and more brutal and bloody scenes in the media, for example in TV shows and movies, and violent behaviours tend to be related to superheroes. As offspring are still in the process of moral values, they are likely to be misled by such information and begin to imitate violent behaviours in their real life. Second, computer games usually reward players after they have reached a certain level. The more rewards they get, the more they want to play. This instant gratification can lead to addiction. As a result, offspring may spend an excessive amount of time playing computer games, leaving no time to do sports or connect with their parents, which may lead to a distant relationship with their family, and they may develop diseases such as obesity and spine disorders. Last but not least, television programs do not require viewers to think too much and usually present information intriguingly. Children are less disciplined than adults in general. As a result, they tend to spend too much time watching TV, which may impair their learning efficiency. Several measures can be taken to address the above problems. A possible solution to this problem would be for the government needs to implement regulations to restrict the content that is presented in the media. For example, all violent content should be censored by the authorities, and the company that produces such content should classify the target audience according to their age, such as people under 18 who cannot access computer games with violent content. Apart from this, parents should supervise their children by regularly checking their accounts or setting up a separate account for them to use for TV watching and computer games. Other than that, parents can also impose a time limit on their children's Internet use, for example, 30 minutes per day. In conclusion, based on the above analysis and evidence, poor learning efficiency, potential violent behaviours, and poor physical well-being are the main impacts of violent content, and these problems can be addressed through parental and government oversight and policies.