it is better playing games or reading books for children?

It is widely witnessed dual versions about what can bring more benefits for children: if it is playing games and watching television or reading books. While, in my opinion, this digital world brought tremendous positive outcomes, the act of reading a book is far more beneficial for a child who is still in their development stage. In the first instance, from my point of view, children can learn substantially more from a book. While the written language that is presented in a book is rather more correct, the language presented in games and television is less accurate with the use of frequent slang and swear words. For example, when reading a book a child can immerse in a world of learning new words, which can lead to a deeper knowledge of their native language in terms of lexical resources and grammatical accuracy. As a result, if a child is not stimulated to read, they could never gain these competencies, which are crucial to later stages in their life. Notwithstanding these advantages of reading a book, playing games and watching tv can also have some importance relating to the development of other cognitive skills. Nowadays, whereas some games are all about fighting, many others have the goal to overcome obstacles or even matching words to their synonyms. Consequently, these latter ones aim to develop certain skills, powering these individuals to make decisions, and therefore enhancing their intelligence. However, these days, many children choose to play and watch violent programs, many times without their parent's supervision. As a result of this, they could immerse in a world of violence which would not be socially accepted. In summary, in spit of the media era came with enormous benefits, chief among them the development of children´s cognitive skills, I strongly agree that reading a book is far more positive as it allows a child to develop language skills at a very early stage of their development.