Big salary is more important than job satisfaction. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some people that high remuneration is more important compared to a sense of job fulfilment. I disagree with this view owing to the fact that the lack of job satisfaction could result in loss of job and harmful health complications. First of all, the absence of a sense of fulfilment in the workplace could cause loss of job. This occurs because there would be less dedication to work which would lead to poor work attitude, reduced productivity and ultimately the loss of a job. For instance, a recent report by the Nigerian Sociology Association identified job dissatisfaction as a major factor for disengagement from work across the country. Therefore, despite a high-paying job, professionals who are not satisfied with their job are often sacked from work or leave the job for others with better conditions of service. Furthermore, some adverse health complications do arise from the lack of job satisfaction. In other words, some highly paid professionals develop health problems like anxiety and depression on account of dissatisfaction with their jobs which could result in suicide. For example, some cases of suicide among high-income earners in Nigeria are attributed to frustrations from work. This shows that medical problems could develop from the absence of a sense of fulfilment from work. Thus, if workers are satisfied with their jobs, some unwanted health challenges would have been prevented. In conclusion, I disagree with the notion that big remuneration is better than satisfaction from work due to the fact that loss of a job is a frequent outcome of job dissatisfaction while deleterious health problems may also result from a lack of sense of fulfilment at work. Efforts geared towards increasing satisfaction at work should be promoted.