impact of universal basic income on economy in Latvia

Context: The possibility of implementing a Universal Basic Income in Latvia in response to increasing automation threatening unemployment and social inequality is studied. This hypothesis will be investigated by analyzing existing studies on Universal Basic Income, developing models for its implementation, and determining its costs and possible ways of financing it. The objective is to find out whether the implementation of Universal Basic Income could contribute to Latvia's economic growth. Universal Basic Income (UBI): is a cash payment unconditionally given to all citizens, with no means test or work requirement. The main idea is to provide a minimum income to all citizens, regardless of their social status, employment, or other indicators. Proponents argue that it is better than current welfare systems, but its implementation requires resources and political will. Studies have examined the details in several countries including the U.S., U.K., Finland, Sweden, Australia, and New Zealand. Government transition programs appropriate for the XXI century include demands for UBI that improve the lives of workers and help convince people. In the case of Latvia, a social benefit called GMI is offered to guarantee a minimum level of income for its citizens. It is scheduled to increase to EUR 64 per person per month from January 2020. This resembles the Universal Basic Income, which is proposed as a measure to reduce inequality. The value of the full minimum subsistence basket was last calculated in 2013 and was EUR 253 per month. The authors attempt to calculate future values of the minimum subsistence basket using the relationship between it and inflation or GDP. The possibility of implementing a Universal Basic Income in Latvia, concluded that the calculated value of UBI per person per month would be 150.92 EUR, which is 43.90% lower than the necessary subsistence minimum. 6 financing scenarios (budget deficit or tax increase) were made to assess the macroeconomic effects of the implementation of the UBI, which showed GDP growth in the first scenario and increased tax revenues in the fourth scenario, but with increasing unemployment if citizens do not look for work. Inflation would increase in the first scenario and there would be no significant change in the others. Finally, research on Universal Basic Income in Latvia has shown that, although it is not feasible to implement it at the subsistence level, its implementation could stimulate the economic development of the country. The results of indicators such as Gross Domestic Product (GDP), inflation and consumer prices showed low correlation between them, so it was not possible to use the linear regression model for the full calculation of the minimum subsistence basket. To improve the study of the UBI, the impact of other variables affecting GDP should be considered and the social effects of the UBI should be examined. Opinion: The final decision is the right one, as several financing scenarios are presented to evaluate the effects of UBI implementation, but it requires sufficient capital, although the UBI could contribute to Latvia's economic development, other variables need to be considered and social effects examined.