ILife has become much more stressful compared to our parent’s generation. As a result, stress-related illnesses are increasing around the world. Why is stress such widespread in the modern world and what do you think can be done to overcome the problems caused by stress? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays life has become more hectic and stressful as a result of the technological revolution. Many people believe that this increased speed of life and pressure that we feel caused illnesses that were not widespread in the past. This essay aims at describing the reasons why the modern population suffers from stress as well as ways to overcome problems caused by stress. We are living in a highly technological world which made us live quicker and not meeting these standards of a speedy life can lead to a constant pressure which is imposed on an average person. It is believed that the quantity of information in the world doubles every year, which means it grows in geometrical progression. Is it possible to deal with such an amount of knowledge at work or while studying? Definitely not for everyone. This is the reason why a lot of schoolchildren and university students find their studies difficult and consequently suffer from stress-related illnesses. Another problem that modern technology causes is a different approach to work. Internet enabled customers to rate and criticize businesses in general and workers in particular. Living under such surveillance imposes a lot of pressure upon ordinary clerks, teachers, policemen etc. And as a result workers find themselves constantly worrying about their duties, performance and deadlines. I believe that reasonable time management and technological skills can improve the situation. If the person knows how to schedule his or her day or slow down when necessary, is able to find the balance between work and family and knows how to deal with technological tools to cope with the increasing amount of information, he or she is capable to avoid or, if inevitable, overcome the problems caused by stress.