Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do they drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Video games are one of the most popular leisure activities around the world. Many people believe these games not only have positive points but also because of their advantages can be used in the education system. However, others are certain there are no useful points for playing digital games for everyone who played them. In my opinion, although playing digital games has several damages such as physical and mental damage, it could be used to improve creativity and imagination and also it’s helpful as an interactive learning tool. On the one hand, there are two reasons for people are against digital gaming. At first playing games for a long time can affect physical health. That damage could be obesity due to inactivity in long term or could be a more extensive injury such as a heart attack. For example, many years ago a professional game player died after playing a non-stop console game for more than 40 hours in China because of a heart attack. The second reason is some genres of games, especially violent games affect human mental health. They show criminal action in their gameplay, so they can rise the crime rate in society. For instance, in the gameplay of GTA, one of the top-ranked first-person video games, the first character is a criminal and does some crime to accomplish the mission and go to the next level. On the other hand, video games can undoubtedly be used as an effective educational tool in addition to their entertainment aspect. Nowadays, lots of games try to teach lifestyles, sciences, etc. in some developed countries, modern schools and institutions use games for teaching skills to children and encourage them to learn by playing games. For instance, most English learning apps are based on interactive games. Moreover, in addition to the educational aspects, playing video games is a hobby and it’s not limited to any specific age group. After hard work/day, playing games is beneficial for relaxing and getting focused. Some games such as mind games and puzzles are useful for improving memory skills. In conclusion, although unsupervised computer games can be dangerous in the manner and time of use, in my point of view, if digital games are used correctly and responsibly, they can be very useful in entertainment and also as educational tools.