Today foods travel thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

food is extremely important not only to live but also to be healthy. The type of foodstuff varies according to culture, geographical area, climate and beliefs. Some family love to eat hot and spicy cooking and others would not. A few decades ago, the public mainly consumes locally grown poultry, grains, fruits and vegetables. However, nowadays, the public consumes imported different varieties of meals. There are several reasons why society eats foods which are very far away from them. Increased transportation facilities are an important cause of eating materials migration. Additionally, the development of advanced information technology helps us to advertise different recipes from various parts of the world. Especially, on social media, we share lots of meals and cuisine-preparing videoes which promote others to buy and try new recipes. Meanwhile, competition among restaurants compels them to introduce varieties of dishes to attract customers. Therefore, they import lists of raw materials from long distances. Even though, eating imported meals which travel thousands of miles from the cultivated area to the consumers is having pros and cons. For example, coconut is a highly nutritious meal, but unfortunately, coconut trees are not growing in many parts of the world. therefore, importing coconuts is necessary for those area communities. On top of that exporting harvested crops will help to improve the economy. on the other hand transportation of food will take a long time. During this period, the essential nutrient might be lost from vegetables and fruits. For example, potatoes are rich in vitamin C, but the Vitamin C will be lost with time before consumption. Sometimes they may get infected or become poisonous due to the long storage periods. In summary, the export and import of foodstuffs, cause several harms rather than benefits, especially since this transport takes a long distance and long duration.