Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the current situation, fewer individuals dedicate their time to leisure activities. Therefore, such activity can lead to the deterioration of relationships towards self and society. Hobbies are already part of an individual’s life. It can be a determinant of how a person can be different from one another and it is somehow an escape if the world itself is already overwhelming. Generation nowadays, tends to be more focused on their career rather than themselves. To give even a glimpse of their extra hour outside their work is a liability thereby decreasing the amount of care and love for what their whole being deserves. For instance, if they are so preoccupied with their job, they tend to forget to eat healthy meals on the right track, fewer hours of sleep, no more spare point to exercise as well. All of these may lead to self-care deprivation, whereby not only physical health can decline but also the emotional, mental and spiritual aspects. In addition, interrelationships between the community and society can greatly be affected. They can participate in social gatherings, community meetings and annual team building. By doing so, intact friendship, harmony and respect for each other will remain. Failure to do so can destroy the mutual affection that was built through participation in such activities. To conclude, leisure moment is as vital as work in a person’s life. An individual must learn how to establish a balance between work and hobbies as it has positive and negative effects not only towards self but also on society if taken for granted.