In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this rule of accommodation have some advantages or disadvantages?

In recent years, more an more city inhabitants have started to live in large apartment blocks. For this reason, a debate regarding benefit and harms of this type of accomodations accommodation has emerged. In this essay, a brief explanation of the argument will be given. It is undoubtedly true that apartment blocks can solve some of the city-housing issues. First of all, in this way governments can save space, that with growing cities is becoming a major problem. Therefore, creating larger buldings that many times are vertically developed can help to give an house to families without needing great amounts of land. Furthermore, these apartments are often cheaper than single houses, thus giving the opportunity to more families to live nearby cities. Finally, these large blocks can create a stronger sense of community between neighbours. For instance, in many of this accommodations accomodations the inhabitants reunite and organize social events. On the other hand, there are some negative aspects of this policy that cannot be overseen. For example, these blocks always need a great amount of maintainance, often very expensive, that many times city councils do not provide. As a consequence, the tenants have to pay for it themselves or the building will start to degradate. Moreover, these apartments are generally located on the border of the cities and this can socially exclude the people living in them, hence starting a ghettization phenomenon. In addition, this type of apartments are tiny, thus deincentivize disincentivize the formation of large families, which in a society with declining birthrates can be detrimental. In conclusion, there are many advantages and disadvantages of this rule of accomodation. As stated above, economically speaking this is an efficient solution, but on the social side there are some negative points that can cause some major issues.