Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

It is a topic of general interest that in the majority of nations, not many high school seniors gravitate towards choosing science as their major in tertiary education. There are many compelling reasons for this phenomenon and a school of thought holds that it could cause a plethora of problems for society. This will be shown by analyzing the barriers to learning science subjects and the drawbacks it causes to society. To begin with, most of Bachelor programs in science fields place heavy emphasis on the applicant's academic achievements at high school. This is why many students feel reluctant when they take consider studying this discipline at university because to meet the requirements of the field, they have to deal with more intense study schedules at high school to get the best academic results and win a place at a higher education institution. Moreover, a number of science subjects seem to be difficult and to achieve the triumph of learning, learners are required to not only spend an immense amount of time to gain knowledge but also hole practical science skills such as doing research, using lab equipment, etc. In addition to this, studying science is costly and seems to be attainable for some parents or students who are financially visible. I would argue that this phenomenon could lead to many significant drawbacks to society. First and foremost, the decreasing influx of science postgraduates would be a burden for an educated workforce due to the fact that societies have witnessed the thriving demand of employment in some aspects namely technology, science, engineering and mathematics. Moreover, there would be more budget deficits when governments have to spend more money and provide high salaries as leverage to pique the interest of those professions. In conclusion, the lack of students choosing science subjects to learn at their universities could put a heavy strain on society. That is why I suppose that government should provide more policies to encourage more students to join science fields.