In some countries, more young people are choosing to live by themselves rather than at home when they attend university. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

More and more young people are opting to live alone instead of staying at home when they go to college. Is this change good or bad for our society? It is obvious that this development is positive consequences for university students: firstly, they can focus on studying and secondly, they can improve practical skills for their future. First of all, we must recognize that university students who live alone are capable of spending more time on studying than those who live with their parents. By way of example, they can have access to facilities in college such as a library easier than others because they live close to school. According to an article in the Asahi Shimbun newspaper that was published last month, eight out of ten Japanese students said that living near the university encouraged them to study harder than other students. As a result, these students tend to graduate with a distinction. Secondly, young people can improve practical skills through living far from their parents. These can include not only cooking and cleaning but also time-management and problem-solving skills. In fact, research recently conducted by the Ministry of Education in Japan discovered that people who have built the above skills due to living by themselves tend to perform better at work. Consequently, The Government of Japan has encouraged college students to live by themselves when they go to school. In conclusion, there are considerable benefits to living alone rather than staying at home when they go to university such as having better environments for study and improving practical skills for their future live. we must consider the these advantages.