Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree whit this statement?

In recent years, a debate regarding possible student activities has emerged. In particular, some people argue that, especially in high school programs, some community work should be included. I generally agree with this proposal only if strict rules, that do not allow exploitation of student's activity, are put in place. In this essay, a brief explanation regarding the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly true that getting involved in some social service could be beneficial for students. In fact, nowadays pupils often end school without having any sort of real-life experience, thus many of them have no idea of what working means. For this reason, a community service program could teach students how to behave in the workplace and, at the same time, benefit the whole society. Moreover, it could be an opportunity to learn what really means to be part of a community, with its rights and duties. Finally, someone could get involved in social services, finding a passion in a sector that desperately needs volunteers. Given all this, it is not entirely inaccurate to say that such services should be compulsory in high schools. On the other hand, it should be clear that unpaid services provided by students cannot be seen as an occasion to save money for city councils or some companies. For instance, in some countries where similar approaches are used, such as Italy, where pupils have to work for at least 200 hours during their studies, there have been cases of exploitation. This could be avoided with stricter controls and with detailed reports of the activities in which the student takes part. In conclusion, I think that it is a great idea to make students participate in community service. As stated above, this could have advantages for all the involved sides and could be implemented pretty easily. Nonetheless, the process should be surveilled by the institutions to prevent the misuse of student work.