The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Nowadays, owing to the growth of tourism, English has become the order of the day around the globe. It is opined that, in future, the single linguistic communication which would be spoken in the world is English. This essay will illustrate the pros of the whole world becoming monolingual. However, this essay will discuss some cons of this trend. To begin with, the crowds residing around the globe speaking one language have several advantages. First and foremost, when folks interact with others in a single dialect in some workplace or a company, they are more prone to develop unity. This integration aids them to diminish those communication barriers which exist among folks belonging to multiple nations. One can see this with an organisation named Google. Here, there are folks from diverse cultures and ethnicities speaking only English. In addition to integrity, being monolingual can augment productivity. For example, there is no requirement for translators when the community is communicating in a common dialect. On the contrary, the trend of the population becoming monolingual has various disadvantages. First of all, if society tends to talk in one dialect only, it is highly likely that they will lose a firm hand in their own national speech. This loss of someone's command of their regional speech culminates in the loss of their specific identity. For instance, the Arabs who will have to communicate only in English would feel this is a threat to their core identity. Moreover, the tendency of the public to confabulate only in English will result in a lowering of their self-esteem. As the crowds feel proud to talk in their national speech, they will consider themselves inferior if they have to talk in some foreign language. Hence, the bilingual world being transformed into a monolingual world has notable disadvantages. In a nutshell, it is argued that the world is being heavily transmuted into a monolingual world. This trend has some remarkable pros like unity in diversity and an increase in productivity. On the other hand, it exhibits some noteworthy cons such as the loss of folk's prime identity and self-respect.