Organized tours to remote places and communities are increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for local people and the environment?

Travelling to famous places has always been a popular activity for people around the world. However, in today’s era planned group expeditions to unexplored places and communities are gaining a lot of attraction. In my opinion, the increase in tour frequency has a detrimental impact on both environment and communities. To start with, the fashion of going to remote regions is hampering the private life of local tribes. They have to be conscious of the groups visiting and plan their activities accordingly. For example, a local group in Port Blair island prefers no visitors as they have a different lifestyle than civilized people. Moreover, the increase in guided expeditions has made them modify their culture and not make them comfortable in their own skin. Therefore, impacting their lifestyle and comfort. In addition to this, the increase in the culture of organized tours is heavily impacting the environment. Individuals, litter around and harm natural resources by throwing plastic waste into the environment which results in dirty neighbourhoods. Also, to make the areas popular amongst tourists the trip planners want to develop the area by making food joints at exotic locations harming the peace and charm of a specific place. For instance, building a stay near a remote place will impact the natural beauty. To conclude, the rise in the number of group tours to these places is negatively impacting the locals and nature. Therefore, we should limit the number of visits to maintain nature’s decorum and respect the privacy of locals.