Many would argue that scientific research requires a degree of oversight from the relevant governmental authorities. In my opinion, properly handled, this is a sensible and necessary policy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In today's world, with the advancements of technology and information on our fingertips scientists can make a lot of new discoveries and improvements of drugs, treatments and so on. However, as these can get a lot of praise amongst other scientists it could seem horrifying to the public eye. Therefore, maybe there should be people in other aeries who should look at this first before starting research of publishing research results. In this essay I will discuss advantages and disadvantages of government intervention in the scientific field of research. Firstly, the advantage about this would be that government could stop upcoming backlash of discovery or the burdens of application of the research. For example, these days science are forbidden by the government of ethics to interfere with the human genome. The reason for this is for medicine it’s seems very promising, because in this way you could avoid the possible genetic diseases before the baby is even born. On the other hand, the deletion of genes or replacement of them could create other problems that are unknown and could be even deadly to a child and even if the child lives the undefined burdens could only be seen in the future or seen only on the upcoming generation. Therefore, it is important to have people to look in into the research and see what the over can’t. However, the versight from the relevant governmental authorities could be a disadvantage too. For instance, in Lithuania it’s forbidden to gain or work with stem cell of unborn child or mothers placenta. Nevertheless, working with these cells is possible in other European countries. This kind of ban was received negatively by scientists in Lithuania. Since stem cells is the beginning of all cells it can differentiate in a neuron, bone cell or any other cell in our body. In medicine stem cells are already used for regenerating skin after severe burns of radiation then the wounds can’t heal themself. Also, in other countries scientist ever started to grow parts of the body like ear from these cells to replace missing one. Consequently, our workers in the laboratories can’t participate in this research and help our own people and the stem cells from the abortions are wasted when they can be used for the greater good. In conclusion, the interference is needed in cases of the human genome editing and avoiding the problems that comes from it, but it can also be a con in field of stem cells where cells regeneration can save from losing a limb.