Group or team activities can teach more important skills for life than those activities which are done alone. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's interconnected world, many tasks require team effort for maximum productivity. In view of this phenomenon, some people posit that people can acquire more important life skills from group activities than individual ones. I agree with this stance to a large extent, although I would like to argue that solitude is still valuable to our self-improvement over the course of life. On the one hand, team activities can be the training ground to prepare us for our personal life and the corporate world. In a group setting, collaboration and competition with other members are inevitable, thus honing our communication skills and emotional intelligence. Furthermore, we often encounter differing opinions raised by teammates. By listening to them and figuring out a middle ground, we can learn to resolve conflicts and compromise. For example, in the National University of Singapore, many modules have a group project component which requires students to work together towards a common goal. Many have found this helpful as it simulates the work environment and the enhancement of their interpersonal skills is also transferrable to their relationships with friends and family. On the other hand, there are crucial areas of our intellect that are best cultivated alone. In this age of information, it is easy to be swayed and influenced by the myriad of opinions available. As a result, we need to be capable of thinking independently and critically in order to come to our own conclusions and decisions. For instance, if we want to understand a school of thought in philosophy, such as utilitarianism, it is best to read through the relevant materials on our own, instead of relying on secondary information from our friends. Nevertheless, when in doubt, we can also benefit from discussing our questions and insights with others for inspiration or an alternative perspective. To summarise, group and individual activities are both essential to one's growth. While team projects can equip the participants with social skills vital to their success further in life, time spent alone on reading and thinking can establish their own intellectual capabilities and value systems. Therefore, I do largely agree with the view that one can obtain more life lessons by collaborating with others, but engaging with certain tasks individually is also irreplaceable in one's personal journey.