More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why is this? Who benefits more from this, the communities or these young people?

Nowadays younger generation from well-developed countries has a tendency to dedicate their time, money and energy to volunteering in poorer parts of the world. People are social creatures and helping each other is an integral part of their behaviour. But in modern,reality this aspect gets to a completely new level, because there are enough resources and technologies to help everyone on a global scale. People around the world participate in volunteering programs and there are two reasons for that. On the one hand, young citizens of more developed countries see the difference between them and others, they have opportunities and no need to survive. Therefore, the feeling of guilt arises in their minds. So, in order to deal with such discrimination, they start to volunteer abroad. On the other hand, going to another country is perceived as an adventure, something completely opposite to a normal quiet life. For example, if a young person wants to see the world, and get an unbelievable experience, being a volunteer ideally fits such a wish. It is quite hard to settle down, on who exactly benefits more from volunteering. I suppose both local communities in less developed countries and young people who come there get what they need. For the first,group it is vital to receive support, education and money, while for the other,one it’s an unforgettable experience and the chance to fulfil their highest desires. In conclusion, volunteering is a great way to help the world become a better place, where equality and opportunities are for everyone.