For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and Math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skills be made as fourth skill to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Along with the outstanding development of society, computers are very popular and it plays a crucial role in working and studying. Some people claim that computer skills should be the fourth necessary skill going hand in hand with reading, writing and Math. I strongly agree with this point of view. To begin with, most of the studying activities are nearly relevant to computers. Firstly, a computer is an initial device helping students search and access needed information to enhance new and practical knowledge for their learning because studying theories in classes are not enough. Some majors, such as finance and accounting, are partly dependent on the calculation and current information on the Internet. Secondly, in a high-tech society, there is no doubt that the data and information are more complex than in the past so it is difficult to present in words. Computers become helpful devices visualizing those data become charts and tables to be colourful and uncomplicated that people can understand, present and explain effortlessly. For example, a lot of universities and colleges use the PowerPoint presentation task as a compulsory criterion in marking and evaluating their students so students must be computer literate. Consequently, computer skills are necessary and important. In addition, being proficient in computer skills, especially Microsoft office, is one of the job requirements because almost working activities are relevant to computers, similar to studying. Above all, employees must be good at computing to process work and communicate with different departments, outside partners and colleagues. The more competent are employees in the office, the more effective job performance they are. The undergraduate educated the computer skills will have better career prospects. Following, knowing how to use a computer helps people adapt to any bad circumstances needed remote work. For instance, during the Covid 19 pandemic, employees are forced to work from home. If they are not good at using computers, they can become unemployed. To sum up, there is no denying that computer skills are the fourth most important skill in educating students. I believe that the born of computers completely and significantly changes the world to be better.