Some people believed that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children's time is better spent on more academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some people believed that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children's time is better spent on more academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion Up until today in Indonesia, Physical Education is still included as part of mandatory curriculum for primary to high school students. Some might agree with this practice, but others argue that children should focus more on academic related subjects. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of both views. In this era, everything is getting more competitive, this includes the academia setting. In order for students to get into top institutions, they have to pass exams for mandatory subjects such as maths, science and English, with remarkable results. Therefore, parents who wanted their children to enter good schools would force them to put extra efforts on those subjects and reduce the amount of time spent for subjects deemed unnecessary for exams - such as sports. However, these subjects might not be easy for everyone. If one is forced to spend a lot of their time to do something that they do not like, they will be stressed out, which consequently makes it harder for them to absorb the studies. Physical exercise might help with this issue. While doing exercise, our body released a chemical substance called dopamine, which can increase happiness level in a person and in return, release stress. When students are more relaxed, it will be easier for them to learn on more difficult subjects. Another reason on why we should not remove Physical Education is because not every children has the passion to go further with their higher level of education. Some might want to continue as athletes, and therefore, making them sit on a class to revise multiplications and divisions may not be the best option. Instead, if they are allowed to focus on exercise, they might flourish in their filed of passion. I believe that physical education should not be abolished from school curriculum, as they can provide various benefits to children, such as reducing stress and providing them with options aside from academic-related career.