Some people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places like libraries, shops and on public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, the usage of mobile phones has become more and more spread in society. As a consequence, some people have started to argue that there should be a phone ban in public places. Personally, I think that more than banned, their utilization should be limited in certain places. In this essay, a brief explanation regarding the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly true that mobile phones use in public can be rude. For instance, some people tend to utilize them in public as they do when they are alone, with high volumes and completely isolating themselves from the surroundings. Consequently, other persons could be molested by this behaviour. Furthermore, some people are addicted to mobile phones, so, reducing the opportunities in which they can use them could help them overcome the issue. Given all this, the proposed ban could be advantageous. On the other hand, the importance of mobile phones in modern society should be taken into consideration. Nowadays, phones have a series of features that have made them unreplaceable. For example, with their phones, people could pay in shops and public transport, use some apps for work during commuting time, consult the viability of books in libraries and many more. Moreover, someone could receive an important call in a public place, thus a ban on phones could be detrimental to both the caller and the receiver. In conclusion, I think that it should be more effective to limit the utilization of phones more than impede it. As stated above, they can be an important tool in many circumstances and this role should be recognized, hence a solution could be to permit, in some places, the use of the phone only for some important reason and not for simply filling in time.