Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough and other measures are needed. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The number of people smoking worldwide has significantly increased in recent years. Although many people believe that making smoking illegal and banning it in public areas are the most effective ways of making people quit smoking,others argue that other measures are necessary.In this,essay i will discuss both views and will state why I think there is more to be done in order to encourage people to stop smoking. Those people who think,that making smoking illegal and banning smoking in public areas will decrease the numbers of smokers believe, that people will stop smoking for fear of getting caught. For example, they will avoid smoking if they know that they will be fined or even more,arrested. In addition,if smoking becomes forbidden by law people won't have access to cigarettes anymore. For instance, cigarettes will not be sold in shops as they will be illegal. Therefore the number of smokers will drop relatively soon. On the other hand, the other group of people suggest,that government should address the root of the problem and focus on educating people about the dangers of smoking. They believe, that the government should provide different programs to educate children from a very early age. For instance, teaching children about the harms of smoking can become part of the curriculum.If children learn about the harmful effects of smoking, this might discourage them from starting to smoke when they are adults. In conclusion, while some people believe that banning smoking in public areas and making smoking illegal is the most effective way to help people stop smoking, I agree with the second opinion and think, that smoking a problem should be solved by addressing its root and educating people about the dangers of smoking.